First board starts - ideal depth - ideal wind speeds?

Introduce yourself... Ask for advice...
sideshowbob

First board starts - ideal depth - ideal wind speeds?

Postby sideshowbob » 29 Dec 2015, 19:16

Hello all - a few questions!

So I was trying to board start today, doubtless in the way of some of you lot at Coney. I found myself in something of a quandry. In the shallows I'm not confident there's enough depth to cushion my fall if it all goes wrong (e.g. I get lofted or dragged). Go deeper and I'm getting hammered by waves so struggle to get going, bearing in mind I'm new to all this. Deeper again and I'm swimming so obviously not ideal!

What's the minimum water depth I should be practicing board starts in? knee, thigh, waist?

Another conundrum is when to come out in the first place. At my stage, what's the minimum and maximum wind and gust speed I should be looking for? Got kites from 7-12m but pretty old and knackered, I'd rather be on the 9.

blast

Re: First board starts - ideal depth - ideal wind speeds?

Postby blast » 29 Dec 2015, 19:30

Minimum depth is thigh deep, ie deep enough to break your fall and not break your collar bone etc

Wind strengths, today was pretty much on the money. It needs to be around 15-20mph ideally.
Epic / F-One / Shinn / Peter Lynn / Mystic / Airush / CrazyFly / Fluid / Blankforce / Moses / Axis / Ozone
http://www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk
#supportyourlocalshop

sideshowbob

Postby sideshowbob » 29 Dec 2015, 22:33

Thanks Marc

so 15-20mph average, gusting er, not more than 30? for the 9m kite?

What about with the 7?

blast

Postby blast » 30 Dec 2015, 09:52

sideshowbob wrote:Thanks Marc

so 15-20mph average, gusting er, not more than 30? for the 9m kite?

What about with the 7?